Steady and Ready

I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along.
Psalms 40:1‭-‬2 NLT

I think I’ve written about these verses before. They’re just so beautiful. They were yesterday’s verses of the day on the Bible app, so they served as a great reminder for me. A few things stand out:

1) The writer says he waited patiently for the Lord to help him. He didn’t wait for his friend or spouse, not the government, not some thing, he waited for the Lord to help. The Lord turned and heard his cry. Patiently was the wait. Oftentimes we may wait, but certainly not patiently. I know I struggle with the patient part.

2) After waiting for patiently, God lifted him out of the pit of despair. God lifted him out of the mess AND set him on solid, safe ground. To my shame, I’ve glossed over that last part of this verse.

3) God steadied him as he walked along. Now, it’s one thing to cry out to God and have Him hear you. It’s another thing to have Him lift you from a dark place. But in addition to all that, he steadied him along the way. He didn’t save him and leave him. He saved him and stayed to support him.

That’s why it’s important to wait patiently on God. Anything else will be a temporary solution, the wait or the help will leave us wanting. But when we wait patiently for God, the One who hears, helps, lifts, and supports, we are steadied and ready for what’s next.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Encouragement, God, Thanksgiving, writing

Leave a comment