The Risk in Same

I am not sure what approach I’m taking to writing this year. I feel like there’s going to be a lot of different approaches than I usually take. If you write, you know how big a step this is. You know what it’s like to have your style, and then try to push the envelope a bit.

If you read my blog, you know I’m not an envelope pusher. You are well aware of the fact that I love same. Same is safe, it’s comfortable, it’s affordable, like my Kia (shout out to Kia owners).

But, at this moment I just realized, same isn’t safe. Same isn’t that comfortable. And it’s really not all that affordable.

What’s safe about being your average self? What’s comfortable about stunting in growth? What’s less affordable in this lifetime than risking your personal growth?

Same is overrated. Now, granted, I don’t think I’ll change overnight, but I think that at this moment I am having what is called the breakthrough. I always thought being safe and predictable made the most sense. And there are times when it does, but there are just as many times when it doesn’t.

I have to stop saying no to so many things because they don’t fit my usual routine, and start at least saying maybe. It’s not the worst thing in the world. In fact, some of the best things have come to me in the least of expected ways. There really is nothing wrong with pushing the envelope and opening it too.

Why not just embrace the mystery of the coveted envelope?

Leave a comment

Filed under Encouragement

Leave a comment