Worrywart

For some reason, you know what I like to do? Worry. And I clearly like worrying because if I didn’t, I would stop. Yes, it is that simple. I would stop worrying if I didn’t want to.

 

Strangely, I think the sense of worrying makes me feel in control or prepared. Like, if I’m worrying, I’m really focusing on what’s supposed to happen, or so I try to convince myself. That’s such a lie. A placebo if you will. Who could possibly focus fully on anything if they’re so worried about it? Honestly.

 

Stupidly, I continue to worry anyway. And then the time comes. The event is here… I’ve worried and dwelled on it for minutes, hours, days, or even weeks. And then… it’s over. Just like that. My most precious commodity, time, has been exploited to worry over something that wasn’t worth it or as bad as I anticipated.

 

It really makes me wonder. When am I going to learn? The GOD I serve is completely almighty. I have committed to being a Christian. And if more of us knew what that meant, we would know that we don’t get to worry. We’d know that when we made the decision to live a life in Christ, along with that we forfeited our desire to worry and our get to.

 

So from now on, all I should say is, “Thank you GOD. I am yours. And I am not going to abuse you and the time you have given me to worry about things that are nothing for my Almighty GOD.” And in the meantime, all I need to do is… stop worrying! GOD’s got it. HE always has, and HE always will.

 

1 Peter 5:7 Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.

 

Philippians 4:6-7 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. 7 If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Encouragement

2 responses to “Worrywart

  1. I used to worry a lot. I think I still do a little bit because I feel like everything has to go a certain way and I think about the options I should take. I am working on giving all of me to God because I know he can handle anything. Good read. I am looking forward to more post! -Shawnna ❤

Leave a Reply

