What do you want me to do?

One of the worst questions… What do you want me to do?

Why? Because whatever it is you want, it won’t work because you had to tell them what it is. And normally we don’t really know what it is that we want them to do.

We like to believe that situations and things would work easier if the person would want to know how to make it easier but they don’t. It just simply doesn’t work like that. Life doesn’t work like that.

In my dreams and thoughts and prayers I want someone to care about what happens to me. And to want to be helpful to me. But it doesn’t help. Forcing someone to want to please you isn’t very pleasing at all. And every time I’ve been posed with the question, what do you want me to do? How can I make this right? I’ve never had an answer. I, who would love to have it all, have nothing when it comes to this question.

People are people. We all are who we are. And if you don’t know what or how to make that person happy by now, chances are you can’t and that you just aren’t the person that can. And that’s ok. Tough, but ok. Life’s little lessons are tricky like that.

We want someone to be the one. The one that makes us smile. The one we look forward to hearing from the next day. The one we long for, yearn for, or hurt for. But that’s not who they are. It’s not who they are meant to be for us.

That’s why, when he says what do you want me to do? I don’t know. Because if he doesn’t know by now, the chances are he just never will.

Leave a comment

Filed under Relationships

Leave a Reply

